

SVSU 2020 Democratic Engagement Plan

Executive Summary

The Center for Community Engagement (CCE) at Saginaw Valley State University was established in August of 2017 to further support the university mission to "transform lives through educational excellence and dynamic partnerships, unleashing possibilities for impact in our community and worldwide". More specifically, the CCE supports this mission by seeking to foster collaborations among our students, faculty, staff and community partners through civic and democratic engagement.

In February 2018 the CCE signed on the be a part of the Voter Friendly Campus (VFC) program, through the Campus Vote Project, as well as the Campus Election Engagement Project (CEEP). In conjunction with these partnerships, the CCE sought to further enhance university democratic engagement efforts by coordinating the application of three students, Alison Shaina, Joshua Cianek and Nicole Vogelpohl, to become student Fellows through the VFC and CEEP programs. In continuing to expand upon university commitment to democratic engagement, the CCE signed on to be a part of the American Democracy Project's ALL IN Challenge in April 2018. Our goal is to continue to build upon these partnerships, now, and into the future. The CCE currently maintains student fellowship opportunities through the VFC Program, CEEP Program, and now through our Office, internally established and funded.

In participating in the VFC program, ALL IN Challenge and writing this Democratic Engagement Plan, Saginaw Valley State University commits to further institutionalizing civic and democratic engagement, and continuing to engage students, faculty, staff and community members in collaborative partnerships that enhance opportunities for voter registration, education and turnout; ultimately leading to the development of SVSU students as informed and engaged citizens.

Riley Hupfer

Director

Center for Community Engagement

Democratic Engagement Coalition

The Democratic Engagement Coalition at SVSU represents a diverse group of faculty, staff, students and community partners who are committed to enhancing civic and democratic engagement at SVSU and in our communities.

Riley Hupfer - Chair, Director, Center for Community Engagement; SVSU

Joshua Cianek, CEEP Fellow, Alina DeVoogd

Trenton Basner, VFC Democracy Fellow; SVSU

Marisa Cardinalli, CCE Democracy Fellow; SVSU

Gregory Behe, Associate Director, Residential Life; SVSU

Kathleen Chantaca-Kubczak, Administrative Secretary, Student Life; SVSU

Michael Heron, Assistant Professor of Social Work; SVSU

Erik Trump, Professor of Political Science; SVSU

Peter Brian-Rose Berry, Finkbeiner Endowed Professor in Ethics; SVSU

Lucy Cornwell, President - College Republicans; SVSU

Kevin Machata, Clerk; Kochville Township

Jamie Uptmor, Deputy Clerk; Kochville Township

Tyson McKinley, Assistant to the Township Manager; Kochville Township

Michael Hanley, County Clerk; Saginaw County

Kyle Bostwick, Chief Deputy County Clerk; Saginaw County